How Much Is My Case Worth?
So You've Been In An Accident And Want to Know How Much Your case is worth
As a personal injury lawyer in Connecticut, I get this question frequently, “How much is my case worth?” Sure, valuing cases can be tricky and full of variables. Nevertheless, at L.A. LAW, we don’t hesitate to give our clients free case valuations early on in the process.
Some of the variables we use to value your case
There are many variables that come in to play when valuing cases. Also, just because your case has a value driver, doesn’t mean the next one will also.
Below are some of the most common case value-driving variables we see at L.A. LAW:
- Liability-If you are 50% responsible for the accident, then obviously that lowers the value. However, if the other party is 100% liable, that significantly increases your case value;
- Injuries-the more severe your injuries are, the more your case could be worth;
- Property damage can be an indicator to the insurance companies. Oftentimes, insurance adjusters are more likely to pay more if there is extensive damage to your vehicle; and
- Permanency. If a medical professional opines that you have a permanent injury, that oftentimes increases your case value.
These aren’t the only factors determined to value your case. However, they are some of the most common factors. In fact, the permanency of your injury can go a long way to increase your case’s pain and suffering value.
What is pain and suffering?
Pain and suffering usually refers to both the physical pain and financial “pain” you experience. In Connecticut, pain and suffering is often referred to as “non-economic damages”.
At L.A. LAW, we effectively convey your pain and suffering to the insurance companies to maximize your case value. We have had a great deal of success with our method of delivery. Furthermore, it doesn’t hurt that attorney Twillie used to work for the insurance industry. As a consequence, he understands what they need to pay your claim.
curious about what your case is worth?
Want to know what your case is worth? Call or text us at 860-595-3163. We’d be happy to break down your case value for you.
about attorney lawyer a. twillie II
After spending more than six years with two prominent Connecticut defense law firms and one insurance company, Lawyer Twillie (LT) experienced a change of heart and decided to dedicate the rest of his professional career representing the interests of injured victims, not insurance companies.
frequently asked questions - faq's
How long do I have to file a lawsuit?
In Connecticut you generally have two (2) years from the date of the accident.
Certain exceptions apply, for example, if you are filing an under-insured motorist claim.
can i still file a claim even if I am partly at fault?
Yes. Connecticut’s Modified Comparative Negligence Statute is sometimes referred to as the 51% rule. According to this law, you can recover for your injuries and losses if you were equal to or less than 50% at fault for the accident.
Additionally, your amount of compensation will be reduced according to your percentage of fault. For example, if you were found to be 30% at fault and the award for damages was $20,000, you would be entitled to only 70% of the award, which is $14,000.
what are the minimum insurance requirements under connecticut law?
Your auto insurance coverage must at minimum cover:
- $25,000 of bodily injury coverage per person per accident.
- $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
The State of Connecticut also requires you to carry uninsured motorist coverage and under-insured motorist coverage to help protect you if you are injured by someone driving without insurance or without enough insurance to cover your losses.
Your uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage must have the minimum coverage amounts of:
- $25,000 per person.
- $50,000 total per accident.
Should I settle out of Court or take it to Trial?
Generally, a settlement is more preferable then a full blown trial for most accident victims. Nevertheless, sometimes only a credible threat of a lawsuit will properly motivate an insurance company to make you a fair settlement offer. Therefore, I believe the best way to avoid a trial is to prepare thoroughly for one.
That being said, if the defendant insurance company does NOT make a fair and reasonable offer, I am trial attorney and won’t hesitate to take your case all the way to court. I’ve had to do it in the past and will no doubt have to do it again. I will equip you with the knowledge you need to make an informed decision.
Does Connecticut have punitive damages?
Yes, Connecticut has punitive damages under certain circumstances. Punitive damages may be imposed under either the common law or specific statutory provisions when the jury or court has found a defendant to have caused harm by its reckless, wanton, or willful conduct. A DUI accident, for example, might qualify for punitive damages.
The insurance company offered me a check, should I accept their offer?
Generally speaking…No. By taking the check without any kind of reservation, you are in effect accepting the check in full satisfaction of your entire claim. If the insurance company is offering it to you without any kind of negotiation, they are most likely “low-balling” you with an amount that is only a fraction of your claim’s true value.
if i settle and the amount I settled for ends up not being adequate, can I go back for more money?
No you can’t. Any settlement agreement will include a clause in the release that will prevent you from re-negotiating the same claim or taking it to court at a later date. If your injuries are going to require long-term treatment, it is critical that you accurately evaluate and claim all of your future medical expenses or damages.
Is there a deadline for filing a personal injury lawsuit?
Yes. In Connecticut you have two (2) years from the date of injury to bring a personal injury lawsuit. However, depending upon the circumstances, you might have up to three (3) years.
If you miss your deadline, you will not be able to recover for your losses. Contact me to find out why.
If I miss the statute of limitations deadline for filing a lawsuit, can I still negotiate an insurance settlement?
No. The insurance company will not discuss settlement with you after the statute of limitations deadline. The only real bargaining leverage you have in settlement negotiations is that if the insurance company doesn’t agree to settle your claim, you might win a substantial judgment at trial. Once you lose that leverage by missing the statute of limitations deadline, the insurance company will have no motivation to settle with you.
Do I have to speak with the other driver’s insurance company? They keep calling me after my accident.
No – and you really shouldn’t until you have consulted with an experienced lawyer. The other driver’s insurance company will be waiting for you to say something they can use against you to deny your claim or reduce its value. Any contact with the other driver’s insurance company should be undertaken by your attorney. EVEN IF YOU WERE NOT AT FAULT!
Motorcycle Sideswiped By Car
Motorcycle Sideswiped By A Car It’s motorcycle riding season so keep your head on a swivel! Yesterday our office received a call from a guy